Inside The Machine
Mac desktop · current · data 2026-10-15

Mac mini (M5 Pro) for local AI.

With 64 GB it runs Qwen3.8 27B (needs 22.7 GB). 77 models fit. Published speed: gpt-oss-20b at 76.6 tokens/sec.

Memory24 / 48 / 64 GB

Shared between CPU and graphics.

Bandwidth307 GB/s

Higher means faster answers.

PriceFrom about $1,699

As of 2026-10-15. Check before buying.

Which models fit

By memory option.

Usable: 75% on Macs and shared-memory PCs, VRAM minus 1 GB on graphics cards (estimates).
MemoryUsableModels that fitBest three
24 GB18 GB45K2 Horizon 7B (8.6 GB), Gemma 4 12B (11.2 GB), Qwen3.5 9B (9.6 GB)
48 GB36 GB76Qwen3.8 27B (22.7 GB), K2 Horizon MoVA 36B-A4B (28.1 GB), Qwen3.5 27B (21.5 GB)
64 GB48 GB77Qwen3.8 27B (22.7 GB), K2 Horizon MoVA 36B-A4B (28.1 GB), Qwen3.5 27B (21.5 GB)
Speed

Published speeds.

Measured by others, with sources. Not our tests.

ModelTokens/secEngineSetupSource
gpt-oss-20b76.6oMLX v0.6.2 · MXFP4-Q8 (MLX)M5 Pro 20-core GPU, 48GB (chip-level result; device not stated)community-measured · 2026-10-15
Questions

Short answers.

What is the best local LLM for the Mac mini (M5 Pro)?
With 64 GB, Qwen3.8 27B (needs 22.7 GB, AA 33.7). 77 of 124 models fit. With 24 GB: K2 Horizon 7B.
How fast is the Mac mini (M5 Pro) for local AI?
Published: gpt-oss-20b at 76.6 tokens/sec (oMLX v0.6.2, M5 Pro 20-core GPU, 48GB (chip-level result; device not stated)). These are other people's measurements, not ours.
How much does the Mac mini (M5 Pro) cost?
From about $1,699 (as of 2026-10-15). 2026 prices are inflated by the memory-chip shortage; check before buying.

Specs from Apple – Mac mini tech specs (2026-10-15). Prices are approximate and dated; 2026 prices are inflated by the memory-chip shortage.

AGENT VIEW · text/markdown · or send Accept: text/markdown
# Mac mini (M5 Pro) for local AI

URL: https://insidethemachine.ai/machines/mac-mini-m5-pro
Type: Mac desktop. Chip: M5 Pro (16- or 20-core GPU). Memory: unified, options 24, 48, 64 GB. Bandwidth: 307 GB/s. Spec source: https://www.apple.com/mac-mini/specs/ (2026-10-15).
Price: from about $1,699 (2026-10-15, approximate). Status: current.

## Which models fit

| memory GB | usable GB | models that fit | best 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| 24 | 18 | 45 | K2 Horizon 7B (8.6 GB), Gemma 4 12B (11.2 GB), Qwen3.5 9B (9.6 GB) |
| 48 | 36 | 76 | Qwen3.8 27B (22.7 GB), K2 Horizon MoVA 36B-A4B (28.1 GB), Qwen3.5 27B (21.5 GB) |
| 64 | 48 | 77 | Qwen3.8 27B (22.7 GB), K2 Horizon MoVA 36B-A4B (28.1 GB), Qwen3.5 27B (21.5 GB) |

## Published speeds (not our tests)

- gpt-oss-20b: 76.6 tok/s decode, 1611 tok/s prompt (oMLX v0.6.2, MXFP4-Q8 (MLX), M5 Pro 20-core GPU, 48GB (chip-level result; device not stated), community-measured) https://omlx.ai/benchmarks/performance/h03e0nvx (2026-10-15)

## Questions

**What is the best local LLM for the Mac mini (M5 Pro)?**
With 64 GB, Qwen3.8 27B (needs 22.7 GB, AA 33.7). 77 of 124 models fit. With 24 GB: K2 Horizon 7B.

**How fast is the Mac mini (M5 Pro) for local AI?**
Published: gpt-oss-20b at 76.6 tokens/sec (oMLX v0.6.2, M5 Pro 20-core GPU, 48GB (chip-level result; device not stated)). These are other people's measurements, not ours.

**How much does the Mac mini (M5 Pro) cost?**
From about $1,699 (as of 2026-10-15). 2026 prices are inflated by the memory-chip shortage; check before buying.